top of page


SPRING CITY, TN – John Ownbey of Cleveland, TN opened the 2021 racing season at Mountain View Raceway with a win in the 25-lap Late Model Feature Race on Saturday night driving the 84 Lumber Kryptonite. Ownbey got an outside run on Rusty Ballenger of Sevierville, TN coming off the fourth turn on lap 17, and took the lead in turn one on lap 18.

Ballenger led the first 17 laps of the race and finished second in the White Star Market Warrior. Brad Berry of Attalla, AL took the third spot in the Busy Days Oil Service DRC. Josh Collins of Knoxville, TN was fourth in the Knoxville Diesel Rocket, and Ruben Mayfield of Lenoir City, TN rounded out the top five driving the RM Trucking Stinger.

A total of 126 competitors from five different states in eight different Divisions entered Saturday night’s race at Mountain View Raceway to do high speed battle on the ¼-mile high-banked clay oval.

Hayden Cardwell of Knoxville, TN drove the Shorty’s Motorsports PPM to victory in the 20-lap Sportsman Feature Race, and the 15-Lap Open-Wheel Modified Main Event was won by Wayne Jones of Newport, TN in the Steve’s Heating and Air Lightning. Kelby Norwood was the winner in the B Sportsman 15-lap A Feature in the Long Chevrolet GRT and Noah Phillips of Sevierville, TN won the B Sportsman B Feature in the Phillips Racing Mastersbilt.

Johnny Hughes of Graysville, TN won the 15-lap B Hobby Feature Race driving the Hughes Farms Camaro and Jonathan Sims of Knoxville, TN took the 15-lap Thunder Feature Race driving the Roberts Auto Service Monte Carlo. Jacob Sharp of Crossville, TN topped a 27-car Front-Wheel-Drive field in the 15-lap Main Event driving the Sharp Racing Chevrolet, and Chris Payne of Sparta, TN won the 15-lap Dwarf Feature Race in the Sharp Racing Special.

Mountain View Raceway will host it first season points race this Saturday night for the Late Model, Sportsman, B Sportsman, Open-Wheel Modified, B Hobby, Thunder, Front-Wheel-Drive, and Dwarf Divisions. Track officials will be monitoring the forecasted temperatures for Saturday, and will announce Gate and Race times no later than Wednesday.

Mountain View Raceway where you can get “Your Thrill By The Hill” is located at 20626 Rhea County Highway (U.S. Highway 27), Spring City, TN 37381. For more information, call 423-507-2619 or visit the track website at You can also like the Mountain View Raceway Facebook page at


LATE MODELS – 25 Laps: 1. John Ownbey, Cleveland, TN; 2. Rusty Ballenger, Sevierville, TN; 3. Brad Berry, Attalla, AL; 4. Josh Collins, Knoxville, TN; 5. Ruben Mayfield, Lenoir City, TN; 6. Jason Manley, Loudon, TN; 7. Barry Goodman, Spring City, TN; 8. Lamar Scroggins, Cleveland, TN; 9. Luke Crass, Harriman, TN; 10. Christopher Peak, Evensville, TN; 11. Tommy Miller, Corpus Christi, TX; 12, Brody Sharp, Andersonville, TN; 13. Harley Maginess, Dayton, TN; 14. Brad Lowe, Knoxville, TN DNS; 15. Tommy Miller, Soddy Daisy, TN DNS.

SPORTSMAN – 20 Laps: 1. Hayden Cardwell, Knoxville, TN; 2. Addison Cardwell, Knoxville, TN; 3. Zach Shannon, Wartburg, TN; 4. David Doss, Cleveland, TN; 5. Caleb Ashby, Cunningham, TN; 6. Morgan Alexander, Locust Grove, GA; 7. Dylan Cole, Chattanooga, TN; 8. Joe Bray, New Tazewell, TN; 9. Jeremy Hicks, Cleveland, TN; 10. Aaron Watson, Dayton, TN; 11. Donnie Van Winkle, Soddy Daisy, TN; 12. Sylvan Schuette, Blairsville, GA; 13. Robert Koons, Spring City, TN; 14. Bob Hulgan, Dayton, TN; 15. Griffin Alexander, Griffin, GA; 16. Chris Lewis, Lenoir City, TN; 17. Lloyd Singleton, Oliver Springs, TN; 18. Isaac Boring, Tallassee, TN; 19 Evan Wrinkle Jr., Chattanooga, TN; 20. Dustin Ratliff, Whitesburg, TN; 21. Aaron Jones, Mosheim, TN; 22. Corry Bettis, Delano, TN.

B-SPORTSMAN – 15 Laps: (A-Feature) 1. Kelby Norwood, Athens, TN; 2. Bradley Goodman, Spring City, TN; 3. Derek Goodson, Dunlap, TN; 4. Tyler Jolley, Spring City, TN; 5. David Peak, Evensville, TN; 6. Eddie Brown, Crossville, TN; 7. Joel Gordon Chatsworth, GA; 8. Earl Jordan, Dayton, TN; 9. Greg Goins, New Tazewell, TN; 10. Trent Turner, Spring City, TN; 11. Jonathan Denton, Quebeck, TN. (B-Feature) 1. Noah Phillips, Sevierville, TN; 2. Tyler Dennis, Dayton, TN; 3. Tyler Loden, Spring City, TN; 4. Tracey Denton, Spring City, TN; 5. Christian James, Soddy Daisy, TN; 6. Larry Samuelson, Evensville, TN; 7. Troy Croft, Madisonville, TN; 8. Steve Eddington, Etowah, TN; 9. Cody Youngblood, Rockwood, TN; Josh Rogers, Dayton, TN DNS.

OPEN-WHEEL MODIFIEDS – 15 Laps: 1. Wayne Jones, Cosby, TN; 2. Bobby Williams, Dunnville, KY; 3. Justan Parker, Spring City, TN; 4. Chris Standridge, Maryville, TN; 5. Billy Palmer, Knoxville, TN; 6. David Lester, Rockwood, TN; 7. Clayton Turner, Crossville, TN; 8. Travis Sietsema, Crossville, TN; 9. Amos Bunch, Wartburg, TN.

B-HOBBY – 15 Laps: 1. Johnny Hughes, Graysville, TN; 2. Eric Hughes, Graysville, TN; 3. Brady Lee, Knoxville, TN; 4. Cody Moffett, Sweetwater, TN; 5. Sam Burgess, Knoxville, TN; 6. David Beeler, Sevierville, TN; 7. Dylan Johnson, Dunlap, TN; 8. Camdon Myers, Crossville, TN; 9. Aaron Duncan, Riceville, TN; 10. Adrian Williams, Chattanooga, TN; 11. Scotty Atkins, Maynardville, TN; 12. Casey Cash, Spring City, TN DNS.

THUNDER – 15 Laps: 1. Jonathan Sims, Knoxville, TN; 2. Eric Honeycutt, Rockwood, TN; 3. Clayton Forsyth, Crossville, TN; 4. T.J. Stafford, Knoxville, TN; 5. Chris Williams, Soddy Daisy, TN; 6. Nate Hicks, Spring City, TN; 7. Gary Brown, Soddy Daisy, TN DNS; 8. Colby Yarger, Spring City, TN DNS; 9. Scott Smith, Soddy Daisy, TN DNS.

FRONT-WHEEL DRIVE – 15 Laps: 1. Jacob Sharp, Crossville, TN; 2. Billy Long, Decatur, TN; 3. James Burnett, Rockwood, TN; 4. Joe Scealf, Decatur, TN; 5. Jack Gresham, Decatur, TN; 6. Josh Scealf, Decatur, TN; 7. Nate Ingham, Athens, TN; 8. Bradley Lankford, Sweetwater, TN; 9. Makayla Linger, Decatur, TN; 10. Krystin Webb, Spring City, TN; 11. Hunter Lankford, Sweetwater, TN; 12. Amy Williams, Sevierville, TN; 13. Chase Suit, Sevierville, TN; 14. James Shelton, Loudon, TN; 15. Zachery Roderick, Athens, TN; 16. Matthew Sullivan, Cookeville, TN; 17. Allen Daniels, Decatur, TN; 18. Dustin Duncan, Chattanooga, TN; 19. Dakota Leffew, Decatur, TN; 20. Josh Alley; 21. Samuel King, Decatur, TN; 22. Bryan Godsey, Decatur, TN; 23. Josh Davis, Lenoir City, TN; 24. Ronald Daniels, Spring, City, TN; 25. Kenneth Daniels, Spring City, TN; 26. Williams Beddingfield, Spring City, TN DNS; 27. Aaron Wendt, Kingsport, TN DNS.

DWARF – 15 Laps: 1. Chris Payne, Sparta, TN; 2. Randy Bailey, Soddy Daisy, TN; 3. Casey Clary, Lenoir City, TN; 4. Joe Bond, Shelbyville, TN; 5. Timmy Bond, Shelbyville, TN; 6. Billy Hogan, Chattanooga, TN; 7. Anthony Coffman, Sparta, TN; 8. Ed Bray, Cookeville, TN; 9. Daryl Whitney, Cookeville, TN; 10. Trenton Doss, Cleveland, TN; 11. Dakota Richards, Spring City, TN DNS.

PHOTO CUTLINE: John Ownbey of Cleveland, TN celebrates his win on Saturday night in the 25-lap Late Model Feature Race at Mountain View Raceway in Spring City, TN driving the 84 Lumber Kryptonite. Ownbey got an outside run on Rusty Ballenger of Sevierville, TN coming off the fourth turn on lap 17, and took the lead in turn one on lap 18. (MountainView Raceway Media by Greg Farmer)



bottom of page